

## Vermont Food Security: Roadmap to 2035

### **Authors and Contributors**

The Vermont Food Security: Roadmap to 2035 is based on ideas, expertise, and effort from people in every county of Vermont. Over 600 people in Vermont took the time to interview people, research, write, organize, advise, and assist in many ways with this complex project. Many participants who gave advice through interviews, focus groups, and/or surveys remain anonymous. Below, we list and appreciate the authors and contributors who created the Roadmap, including general categories of anonymous contributors. We apologize for any errors or omissions.

#### We thank all of those who contributed their time and knowledge.

Authors: The Roadmap text was written by Vermont Sustainable Jobs Fund staff, Leadership Team members, Consultants, and Subject Matter Advisors.

#### Vermont Sustainable Jobs Fund staff:

Becka Warren, Food Security Plan Project Manager
Kelly Dolan, Farm to Plate Network Manager
Jake Claro, Farm to Plate Director
Ellen Kahler, Executive Director
Esther Erbe, Office Manager & Events Coordinator
Kelly Nottermann, Communications Director *Temporary Roadmap staff:*Lydia Duncan, Food Security Intern
Alison Baker, Food Security Plan Editor
Corey Burdick, Food Security Topic Writing Team Member
Jenny Prince, Food Security Topic Writing Team Member
Nora Lindberg, Food Security Topic Writing Team Member

Vermont Food Security Roadmap Contributors 1

Renee Carpenter, Food Security Topic Writing Team Member

#### **Consultants:**

- Amy Shollenberger, Action Circles
- Pablo Bose, Maple Mountain Consulting/UVM (University of Vermont)
- Becca Mitchell, University of Vermont
- Jaqueline Labate, The Growing Peace Project
- Lena Greenberg, Intervale Center
- Maire Folan, University of Vermont Extension

#### 2023 Leadership Team

- Stephanie Bergen, Vermont Department of Health
- Monica Collins, Feeding the Valley
- Mandy Fischer, The Intervale Center
- Anore Horton, Hunger Free Vermont
- Chris Meehan, Vermont Foodbank
- Helen Rortvedt, NOFA-VT (Northeast Organic Farming Association Vermont)
- Carrie Stahler, Vermont Foodbank
- Abbey Willard, Vermont Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets

#### Subject Matter Experts assisting with review and writing

Keely Agan, Hunger Free Vermont	
Krissy Bigelow-Talbert, BiState Primary Care	
Pablo Bose, Maple Mountain Consulting/UVM	
Chris Campany, Windham Regional Commission	
Stacy Cibula, Vermont Housing & Conservation Board	
Sarah Danly, Vital Communities	
Ivy Enoch, Hunger Free Vermont	
Suzanne Kelly, Vermont Department of Health	
Ross MacDonald, Vermont Agency of Transportation	
Tim Morgan, Hunger Free Vermont	
Ari Rockland-Miller, Vermont Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets	

Nicole Waweru, Vermont Department of Health

#### Contributors:

## Thank you to the individuals and groups who assisted with creating the roadmap process in 2022:

Tatiana Abatemarco, Vermont Foodbank Innovation Lab Molly Anderson, Middlebury College Alexis Alexander, Neighboring Food Coops Association Pablo Bose, Maple Mountain Consulting/UVM Chris Campany, Windham Regional Commission Monica Collins, Feeding the Valley Alliance Mandy Fischer, The Intervale Center Sue Graff, Vermont Agency of Human Services Suzanne Kelly, Vermont Department of Health Ashwinee A Kulkarni, Vermont Department of Health Faye Longo, Vermont Foodbank Trevor Lowell, Vermont Agency of Agriculture, Food & Markets Faye Mack, Hunger Free Vermont Meredith Niles, UVM Helen Rortvedt, NOFA-VT Allan Reetz, Hanover Co-op Food Stores of VT & NH Genna Williams, Vermont Foodbank Vermont Farm to Plate Network Food Security Priority Strategy Team members not mentioned above

# Thank you to the people who led interviews, held conversations, or facilitated focus groups in 2022:

Tatiana Abatemarco	Claudia Melisa Oliva	Christine Porcaro
Keely Agan	Guzman	Johanna Prader
Jeannie Bartlett	Erica Hiller	Allan Reetz
Hannah Baxter	Caitlin Holden	Nicole Reilly
Koi Boynton	Peter Jenkins	Emily Rogers
Anne Caswell	Maddie Kempner	Melanie Sands
Catherine Caum	Yoojee Kim	Liz Scharf
Monica Collins	Ashwinee Kulkarni	Mariana L. Sears
Heidi Cooperstein	Emily Landenberger	Maddison Shropshire
Linda Darlington	Nancy LaRowe	Carrie Stahler
Katy Davis	Sarah Lillibridge	Chief Don Stevens
Johanna Doren	Trevor Lowell	Stephanie Walsh
lvy Enoch	Julia MacGibeny	Graham Unangst-Rufenacht
Mandy Fischer	Faye Mack	Abbey Willard
Maire Folan	Tim Morgan	Genna Williams
Jennifer Fontaine	Mariah Noth	
Emma Gonzalez	Jenna O'Donnell	
Lechelle-Antonia Gray	Katie Paolizzi	
Lena Greenberg	Sabina Parker	

Thank you to the anonymous people across the state who gave their advice, expertise, and input through the following focus groups, interviews, or survey:

3SquaresVT Workgroup

Addison Hunger Council

Anonymous people responding to survey and participating in 1-1 conversations and interviews

**Bennington Hunger Council** 

Capstone Focus Group

Capstone Food Shelf Patrons

Farm to Plate Food Cycle Community of Practice

Farm to Plate Healthcare and CSA Community of Practice

Farmers market managers and farmers implementing NOFA Farm Share: focus group

Franklin County Hunger Council

Hunger Council of Chittenden County

Northeast Kingdom Hunger Council

NOFA-VT

Participants in research project for transportation barriers to food access conducted by Maple Mountain Consulting

Rutland Hunger Council

Upper Valley Hunger Council

Vermont Farmers Market Association Board

Windham Hunger Council